Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

August 11, 2020

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives H-232, U.S. Capitol Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives H-204, U.S. Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Leader McCarthy:

Thank you for your continuing efforts to provide our healthcare specialists with much-needed and meaningful aid to allow them to continue operations during this pandemic. However, it has come to our attention that many specialists are being targeted for ill-conceived and sizeable cuts that simply no longer make sense to implement.

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services' (CMS) final CY2020 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule rule published in November 2019 increased rates for the office-based evaluation and management (E/M) code set in CY2021. Due to the requirement for budget neutrality, this would result in a significant cut for many providers, across multiple specialties, beginning on January 1, 2021.

If these cuts go into effect, they will be devastating for providers and will ultimately result in decreased access to care for patients. Our healthcare system is already under tremendous financial strain, as it continues to grapple with both the economic and health consequences of the coronavirus. Now is not the time to implement these reckless cuts.

We ask that, in any upcoming and relevant legislation moving through the House, you waive budget neutrality for Calendar Years 2021 and 2022 for the E/M codes scheduled for implementation on January 1, 2021 as described in the final rule (84. Fed. Reg. 62568, 62847-62860). We also request that CMS reports to Congress on the overarching effects of the COVID-19 public health emergency. Specifically, Congress should require CMS to study how COVID-19 has impacted access to critical health services in underserved urban and rural Health Professional Shortage Areas, as well as the impact on providers of failing to waive budget neutrality associated with the E/M policy.

Thank you for your consideration of this request. If we can answer any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Bobby L. Rush Member of Congress

/s/ /s/Don Young Collin C. Peterson Member of Congress Member of Congress /s/ /s/Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Eddie Bernice Johnson Lucille Roybal-Allard Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Bennie G. Thompson Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress Member of Congress /s/ /s/Danny K. Davis Ron Kind Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/John Shimkus Barbara Lee Member of Congress Member of Congress /s/Grace F. Napolitano James R. Langevin Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Rick Larsen Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress Member of Congress

/s/ /s/C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger Joe Wilson Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Cathy McMorris Rodgers Albio Sires Member of Congress Member of Congress /s/ /s/Gus M. Bilirakis Yvette D. Clarke Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Steve Cohen David Loebsack Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Peter Welch André Carson Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Marcia L. Fudge Pete Olson Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Glenn "GT" Thompson Paul Tonko Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Ted Deutch David N. Cicilline Member of Congress Member of Congress

/s/ /s/Jaime Herrera Beutler William R. Keating Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Cedric L. Richmond Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/**Steve Stivers** Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Joyce Beatty Susan W. Brooks Member of Congress Member of Congress /s/ /s/Julia Brownley Cheri Bustos Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Tony Cárdenas Rodney Davis Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/ Derek Kilmer Ann M. Kuster Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Alan S. Lowenthal Mark Pocan

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

/s/ /s/Robin L. Kelly Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Mike Bost Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress Member of Congress /s/ /s/Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Brenda L. Lawrence Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/David Rouzer **Dwight Evans** Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Nanette Diaz Barragán Jack Bergman Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Brian K. Fitzpatrick Ted Budd Member of Congress Member of Congress /s/ /s/Vicente Gonzalez Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Raja Krishnamoorthi Al Lawson, Jr.

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

/s/ /s/Greg Gianforte Darren Soto Member of Congress Member of Congress /s/ /s/Joseph D. Morelle Susan Wild Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Colin Z. Allred Kelly Armstrong Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Cynthia Axne Anthony Brindisi Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Gilbert Ray Cisneros, Jr. Angie Craig Member of Congress Member of Congress /s/ /s/Sharice L. Davids Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/**Anthony Gonzalez** Lance Gooden Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Mark E. Green, M.D. Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress Member of Congress

/s//s/Andy Kim Chris Pappas Member of Congress Member of Congress /s/ /s/ **Greg Stanton** Jefferson Van Drew Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/**Eleanor Holmes Norton** Jenniffer González-Colón Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Fred Upton Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Steve King Sean Patrick Maloney Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Dean Phillips Lisa Blunt Rochester

Member of Congress

Member of Congress