## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

December 4, 2020

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives H-232, U.S. Capitol Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives H-204, U.S. Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Leader McCarthy:

As members of the Congressional Black Caucus, we want to thank you for your efforts to ensure access to health care for patients and to ensure that physicians and specialists around the country have been able to continue operations during this pandemic. However, we are becoming increasingly concerned about looming cuts facing many specialists, which are expected to go into effect beginning on January 1, 2021.

On December 1, 2020, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services' (CMS) published the final rule for the CY2021 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule, which increased rates for the office-based evaluation and management (E/M) code set in CY2021. Due to the requirement for budget neutrality, this will result in sizable cuts for over thirty healthcare specialties. While we are supportive of the increases for the office-based E/M code set, the resulting cuts are ill-conceived in the middle of a pandemic. Even without these cuts, too many practices are struggling, even as patients need access to health care now more than ever.

We are aware of solutions to either waive budget neutrality requirements (H.R. 8505) or to hold specialists harmless (H.R. 8702). While not perfect, either of these solutions would give healthcare specialists the financial security they need to weather the COVID-19 pandemic. As such, we urge you to include a provision in the end of year spending package to prevent these reckless cuts from taking effect, while allowing the increases to proceed as scheduled on January 1, 2021.

Thank you for your consideration of this request. If we can answer any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Bobby L. Rush

Member of Congress

/s/ /s/Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Eddie Bernice Johnson Member of Congress Member of Congress /s/ /s/Bennie G. Thompson Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Danny K. Davis Wm. Lacy Clay Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/**David Scott** Yvette D. Clarke Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. André Carson Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Marcia L. Fudge Cedric Richmond Member of Congress Member of Congress /s/Donald M. Payne, Jr. Joyce Beatty Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Marc Veasey Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress Member of Congress

/s/ /s/Alma Adams Dwight Evans Member of Congress Member of Congress /s/ /s/ Lisa Blunt Rochester Al Lawson Member of Congress Member of Congress /s/ /s/Colin Allred Jahana Hayes Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/Lucy McBath Joe Neguse Member of Congress Member of Congress /s//s/**Eleanor Holmes Norton** Stacey E. Plaskett

Member of Congress

Member of Congress